Trustees & Board Members

Constitution of Cherry Tree Trust Board

Cherry Tree Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees who are accountable to the Department of Education and have overall responsibility and ultimate decision making authority for all the work of the Trust, including the establishing and running of the academies operated by the Trust. 

The trustees are a small group of governors (and other specialists) who take on the legal role of coordination of the educational charitable company set up to run the Academy trust. The trustees are responsible for determining the governance of all the schools within the trust, through a written constitution.

If you are interested in finding out more about the role of a Governor or if you have any questions or ideas that you wish to share with the Governing body please contact the school office. Alternatively the following document outlines The knowledge, skills and behaviours needed for effective governance in maintained schools, academies and multi-academy trusts.  Competency Framework for Governance. Copies of minutes from Board of Trustee meetings are available upon request from the Business Manager:

Trustees - the trustees are directors of the trust and are responsible for its management and administration. They have responsibility for directing its affairs, and for ensuring that it is solvent, well run and delivers the trusts outcomes for the benefit of the public.

Mrs Sarah Rudd, Executive Head / CEO                                            

Mr Andrew Wild, Director / Trustee (Chair)

Mr David Thomas, Director

Mr Barry Dawson, Director / Trustee

Mr Dan Lampard, Director / Trustee

Mrs Jen Deegan, Director / Trustee

Members - the members of an academy trust have a different status from the trustees. The members are the subscribers to the trust's memorandum of association. Members have an overview of the governance arrangements of the trust and have the power to appoint trustees and remove these trustees. 

Dr Matthew Johnson

Ms Leslie Culf

Mr Philip Moore